Mário Etrusco Queiroz Carneiro, Robert Bosch, LLC

Name: Mário Etrusco Queiroz Carneiro
Host Institution: Western Michigan University
Academic Training Site: Robert Bosch, LLC
Field of Study: Automation and Control Engineering

I worked for Bosch, a German multinational engineering and electronics company and the world’s largest supplier of automotive components, at its American headquarters in Farmington Hills, MI. I worked on the Diesel Systems – Starting Devices and Advanced Sensors team.  My main project was automation of a test bench for sensors used in diesel-powered engines. Bosch is a partner of automakers in the USA and, during the project of a car, if these companies suspect of any problems with Bosch sensors in their vehicles, they return the sensors to Bosch for analysis. Sometimes Bosch needs to send the sensors to be verified in Germany but it can take up to 6 weeks to get the sensor back to the customer. With an automated test bench in the Farmington Hills facility, Bosch is able to save time and money.

Mario (center) with co-workers at Bosch

Mario (center) with co-workers at Bosch

The best part of my academic training was the challenge of hands-on work with an innovative project. I didn’t have previous experience in automotive industry, but I learned how to use a Bosch programmable logic controller to automate the test bench. I improved my English through contacting suppliers for electronic components, by participating in meetings, and through daily conversations. By the end of my internship I was able to complete my project and be proud that I not only learned a lot from Bosch that I also contributed great work during my time at Bosch.

I had the opportunity to work on a team with people from the USA, Canada, Germany, and India – a great cultural mix that boosted the working environment. The experience of working independently and in a fast-paced high-performance team was great; I’ll definitely apply what I learned in my future career in Brazil. Being able to combine Brazilian motivation and passion with American efficiency and  fast decision-making will be great!

I also believe that Academic Training teaches students to take initiative and have perseverance. After applying to what seemed like hundreds of internships and getting negative responses, I learned how to use LinkedIn to make connections with alumnae from WMU who were also working with something related to Brazil. I found about 20 contacts and emailed them with my resume and cover letter and got replies from 5. Out of those 5, 2 offered me internships. Students must be creative and determined in their internship search if they want to find one. The point is to never give up. If I had been discouraged by all the negative responses I received and stopped looking, I would have never gotten this wonderful opportunity. My advice to students would be to persevere and to take advantage of all the resources available on campus in order to find an internship.

Mario with his manager and two other interns from Germany

Mario with his manager and two other interns from Germany

In the USA, a college student may need to graduate with honors, engage in clubs and do volunteer work in order to land a competitive job after graduation. In Brazil, we need to go abroad, speak other languages, and have strong people skills – and I had the opportunity to develop and grow in all of these assets through BSMP. Today I think my resume looks impressive to any Brazilian potential employer and I hope to pursue a successful career in my home country. I see myself in the future working in a team with people from different cultural backgrounds and able to get the most of each of their working style to our company.

To connect with Mario on LinkedIn, click here